RallyX Nordic presented by Cooper Tires got back underway last weekend (20/21 July) at the historic Biķernieki track in Riga, Latvia. After a long break, the drivers were keen to resume racing.


The hair-raising Biķernieki circuit is sensational to drive, but also extremely unforgiving in nature. Much of the track limits are defined by barriers meaning any mistake, no matter how small, will not go unpunished. Additionally, the track features a unique double jump section with the joker and main lap running alongside one another to create breathtaking last corner battles.


JC Raceteknik’s Ben-Philip Gundersen was the architect of another dominant display following on from his victory in Denmark. The Norwegian had things under control right from the off on Sunday, going fastest in every session on the way to the top step of the rostrum.


“What a wonderful weekend,” Gundersen commented. “I didn’t expect this after practice so I’m very, very happy. I had to push all the time for the win; I knew the other guys were fast so had to keep going, but I had a great feeling in the car.”

Linus Östlund claimed the runner-up spot in the final after a consistent run in the qualifying stages catapulted the Swede up the order.


Local man Vasiliy Gryazin was the only driver other than Gundersen to top the timesheets – in Q1 – but even he didn’t have an answer once the championship leader settled into his stride. Third was the eventual result for the Sports Racing Technologies star, who was thrilled to finish on the podium in front of his home crowd.

Supercar Lites Final Result
1. Ben-Philip GUNDERSEN (NOR) JC Raceteknik 6 laps
2. Linus ÖSTLUND (SWE) Olsbergs MSE +1.748s
3. Vasiliy GRYAZIN (LAT) Sports Racing Technologies +5.451s

Supercar Lites – Championship Standings
1. Ben-Philip Gundersen (NOR) 105 points
2. Sondre Evjen (NOR) 91 points
3. Linus Östlund (SWE) 90 points
4. Thomas Holmen (NOR) 79 points
5. Simon Olofsson (SWE) 60 points
6. Jimmie Walfridsson (SWE) 58 points

2019 RallyX Nordic Calendar
May 17-19 Rounds 1/2 Höljes, Sweden
June 1-2 Round 3 Nysum, Denmark
July 20-21 Round 4 Riga, Latvia
July 27-28 Round 5 Finnskogbanen, Norway
August 24-25 Round 6 Kouvola, Finland
September 21-22 Round 7 Tierp Arena, Sweden