RallyX Nordic presented by Cooper Tires delivered another exciting instalment of its 2019 campaign at Denmark’s Nysumbanen last weekend (1/2 June).

Nysum’s blend of fast, flowing corners, figure-of-eight layout and bridge/jump combination makes it one of the most popular tracks on the calendar for fans and drivers alike, and this year, it delivered crowd-pleasing action throughout, from the headlining Supercar class to the Supercar Lites, RX Academy and CrossCar support series.

Below: Linus Östlund


The Supercar Lites category saw a changing of the guard, as Ben-Philip Gundersen recovered from a puncture in Q4 to take the win ahead of Linus Östlund – and with it, the championship lead. The Swede similarly regrouped from retirement in Saturday’s first qualifier to make it through to the final – and ultimately, onto the podium. Jimmie Walfridsson completed the rostrum in third, ahead of Anders Michalak, Simon Olofsson and Sondre Evjen.

“Its been a really good weekend. We had some ups and downs, but in the end we were fastest, so I’m really, really happy with that” commented Ben Philip Gundersen.

After his success in the opening rounds at Höljes, Thomas Holmen posted some good results in qualifying but was hampered by alternator and power steering problems in Q2. The Norwegian teenager failed to make it to the final after narrowly missing the cut with a fourth place in his semi-final. Countryman Evjen was another championship front-runner to struggle, finishing seven seconds off the pace in the final.


The next stop on the RallyX Nordic calendar will be Riga’s Biķernieki National Sports Base in Latvia on 20/21 July, for round four of the championship.

Supercar Lites Final Result

1. Ben-Philip GUNDERSEN (NOR) JC Raceteknik 5 laps
2. Linus ÖSTLUND (SWE) Olsbergs MSE +0.866s
3. Jimmie WALFRIDSSON (SWE) JC Raceteknik +2.615s

Supercar Lites – Championship Standings

1. Ben-Philip Gundersen (NOR) 75 points
2. Sondre Evjen (NOR) 68 points
3. Linus Östlund (SWE) 66 points
4. Thomas Holmen (NOR) 62 points
5. Simon Olofsson (SWE) 56 points
6. Jimmie Walfridsson (SWE) 43 points