DirtFish Motorsports’ Fraser McConnell took his third win in a row in ARX2, the official support category to ARX, by dominating semi-final two and the final, extending his championship lead to 33 points ahead of Cole Keatts going into the final race weekend in Mid-Ohio.


In the final, McConnell took the hole shot from pole position with Dreyer & Reinbold Racing’s (DRR) Keatts running in second until his car was struck by a mechanical problem in the second dirt section, forcing an unfortunate retirement. His DRR teammate, Sage Karam, made a brilliant start in his return to ARX2 and ran door-to-door with front-row starter Conner Martell into the first corner, forcing his way through the inside into the joker.


Buhl Sports’ Alex Keyes also attempted an overtake on the inside of Martell but dropped to sixth. He moved up to fifth when Keatts retired and ultimately took fourth when Gray Leadbetter had a moment on Lap 1. McConnell dominated the final as 2018 ARX2 Champion Martell pushed Karam hard for second place but ultimately had to settle for third. Keyes and Leadbetter finished fourth and fifth. DirtFish Motorsports’ rookie Brad DeBerti led the intermediate standings for a career first time, but was forced to retire from the semi-finals with a technical issue, not advancing to the final.


ARX and ARX2 coverage from the ARX of Austin will be shown on Wednesday, October 2 at 9:00 p.m. ET on CBS Sports Network.


ARX2 returns to the Midwest for the final event of the 2019 season at the Cooper Tires ARX of Mid-Ohio, October 5-6. The long and challenging .7-mile, 10-turn rallycross circuit at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course hosted ARX for the first time in June, an event that saw Subaru Motorsports USA take their first rallycross win since 2014 and Fraser McConnell capturing his inaugural ARX2 victory. Tanner Foust and Fraser McConnell lead the ARX and ARX2 Championships going into the final weekend.


Final Results

1 35 Fraser McCONNELL DirtFish Motorsports JAM
2 24 Sage KARAM Dreyer & Reinbold Racing USA
3 21 Conner MARTELL Dreyer & Reinbold Racing USA
4 4 Alex KEYES Buhl Sport USA
5 28 Gray LEADBETTER Dreyer & Reinbold Racing USA
6 53 Cole KEATTS Dreyer & Reinbold Racing USA
7 70 Brad DEBERTI DirtFish Motorsports USA
8 09 Michael LEACH Loenbro Motorsports USA
9 55 Lane VACALA Dreyer & Reinbold Racing USA

Official Standings

1 35 Fraser McCONNELL JAM 170
2 53 Cole KEATTS USA 137
3 21 Conner MARTELL USA 117
4 4 Alex KEYES USA 111
5 28 Gray LEADBETTER 103
6 70 Brad DEBERTI 95
8 24 Sage KARAM USA 73
9 09 Michael LEACH 65
10 55 Lane VACALA USA 39